Lulzbot TAZ 6

by LulzBot

26 Reviews

5 star
14
4 star
10
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Small anas portrait crop By anasayoub on May 06 2020
a Printer for everything

This printer is a great tool for both beginners and pros. I recommend it for anyone.

Avatar small By Miguel Sampaio on May 05 2020
A great work horse

Great printer where everything works just fine, with little to no surpises. What else could you which for!

Just one remark: Bed levelling could be much better... if the nozzle got REALLY cleaned each time!

Avatar small By mbenson on Sep 07 2019
TAZ 6 Good and bad...

I've had the TAZ 6 for a little over a year. It's been great - no problems with the bed, quality of the print was very nice, and even had several 2 day prints. Would have given it 5 stars across the board.

A few months ago, the LCD started to act squacky - as if a phantom was pushing the knob jumping from screen to screen. Called support and we diagnosed it was probably the LCD board ($68). Ordered it, installed it and things looked like I fixed it. A few days after warranty expired,  it started again. Contacted support and had several e-mails that really didn't help solve the issue. Contacted the Lulzbot forum to no success.

Finally, support suggested the problem was 1) the LCD board AGAIN. 2) a short somewhere in the wiring harnesses, 3) software that suddenly changed behavior, or 4) the RAMBo ($170) board failed.  #4 seemed the logical choice so I ordered it, installed it and after 2 months of no printing (and it's amazing how dependent I became on my printer!) I'm finally printing again. I also had to upgrade CURA to flash the eprom on the RAMBo. But the good point to make here is the excellent documentation online to support an adventure like this with the TAZ 6. I'm not an electrical engineer but I was able to handle this one.

I'm still impressed with the "open-source" nature of this product - all the printed parts and available in STL form, along with documentation the explains how to fix it. This reminds me of working on PCs when the PC clones were first available. 

The TAZ 6 is not cheap (nor is the TAZ Workhorse or TAZ Pro), but I've been happy with product and would recommend one if the budget can handle it.

Avatar small By hacenterprise on Aug 18 2019
I Chose the Lulzbot TAZ 6 after months of Study

I reviewed and explored many 3D Printer brands and models when I was looking for an affordable "home office" system.  I chose the TAZ 6 for its brand advertising, and (more importantly) overall its consumer reviews, which indicated the TAZ 6 would meet or exceed my needs.  My search focused on: QUALITY of Machine & Output, DURABILITY, BUILD VOLUME, COMPATIBILITY with other sources of SUPPLY & SOFTWARE and Lasting Product Relevance (representing an Industry Standard for a few years) in a swiftly advancing Technical Market.  The TAZ 6 appeared to fit all of those prerequisites.  So I made the purchase.  In hindsight, I am delighted with my selection.

It was out of the box "Turn Key" easy to set up, enabling me to print within an hour.  I had never used a 3D printer before setting up my TAZ 6.   It was SIMPLE!  Certainly the more advanced capabilities require a learning curve or possible engagement with other experienced users and/or factory tech assistance.  The learning curve was made simpler with easy to understand on-line documentation and excellent customer support.  Lulzbot deserves high marks for both!

I have printed a couple of hundred prints with wonderful results and encountered very little waste or frustration.  Failures were more "my fault" than from the equipment or software.  I have sold many of my prints and I have been able to mix my 3D Prints with Resin Cast Products that I offer.  I highly endorse and recommend the Lulzbot TAZ 6.     

Best to All,

Harry

Lulzbot TAZ 6
Avatar small By Behnam Saeedi on Aug 06 2019
Print big!

I highly recommend going with PLA, and one of the very large diameter nozzles! prints huge volumes in a matter of hours and you can easily hide the print lines with resin or other modeling plasters. 

Avatar small By raresghe on Jul 29 2019
Lulzbot TAZ 6

In a laboratory, for printing prototype parts it is OK. Is quite loud. It is better to refine the settings for each filament an print. Before you print a big object you should test the filament on a small one. Overall it is was good choice.

Avatar small By Sparedgimp on Apr 07 2019
Pure quality

You can make it one the best machines out there

Avatar small By Alex Mireles on Jan 10 2019
Taz 6

This printer is an absolute workhorse of a machine. With proper maintenance between prints (which is minimal, just cleaning the bed), it will churn out parts no problem. The major downside of this printer is that it is LOUD. I bought to use in my office for prototypes, but I had to build an enclosure to bring it down to tolerable levels. Otherwise, this printer is fantastic.

Avatar small By cheebert on Oct 13 2018
Wire brush a must, but great printer

the self leveling can be frustrating after you’ve done a bunch of prints, so once the printhead is at temp, get a bronze wire brush and scrub the heck out of the nozzle to clean all the junk off it. The self leveling uses an electrical contact at the four corners of the build plate and calculates the z offset so that it prints level.

Avatar small By larryf_1 on Oct 09 2018
Lulzbot TAZ 6

From day one I was able to print things successfully that I was unable to print on other printers I have had/tried. The dual extruder tool head is a snap to install.  Downloading and installing the profile took only 10 min.

The Lulzbot version of Cura produces very usable Gcode making printing that much easier.

I highly recommend this printer!

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×